Linguivocal

podcast and blog about my English learning

Every cloud has a silver lining

Posted by shashi on February 27, 2006

This morning I rang my TV Company, as I wanted to pay this month’s TV bill. This was the first time I was going to talk with native speakers. The initial part of the conversation was good. I was able to understand what she was saying. She asked me some general information and I answered her quite well. At one moment, she had asked me something, which I didn’t understand. She was might be asking some security information but I really didn’t get it. I requested her to speak slowly. She asked me the same thing quite slowly, though I didn’t get it. She had asked me again and again and still, I was not getting her. At last I got frustrate and I gave up and hanged the phone helplessly.

This is my worst experience ever since I have been studying English. I accept that I was frustrated at that moment but I have not lost my confidence. I know that, one day, I will be able to speak fluently. That day is not far from me, as far as, I have right attitude, enough willingness and a right guider. I am working and will work hard with the Linguist and one day will definitely come when I will speak as a native speaker. Every cloud has a silver lining and I will try to focus on silver lining and not on the cloud.     

Leave a Reply

 
