Linguivocal

podcast and blog about my English learning

How to start learning English with the linguist: Guidelines for the beginners

Posted by shashi on May 1, 2006

When I was new at The Linguist, I was always confused about how to use linguist library and from where to start. There are a lot of linguist contents in our library, so for the beginner members, it is sometimes very hard to select appropriate contents. New members are always confused and seek advice from other members and from tutors. When I was a beginner, I used to search members’ advice on the forum or on their blogs. That’s why I have decided to write some guidelines for beginners on how to use linguist library when they are just going to start with the linguist. (It is totally based on my experience and I hope it will be helpful for beginners.)

Must use free trial of 14 days before starting with the linguist:

click to join free trial

  • It is always helpful if you start with free trial. If you spend some time with the linguist then you will get familiar with the system. If you just look at the system, you may find it difficult, but if you go with it then you will find it the easiest to use.
  • During this free trial, you should finish all the free contents that are awarded to you for this free trial.

1. About contents: these contents describe in brief about the system and introduce to various components of system e.g. listen, read, choose, review, speaking, writing, measure etc.

2. Your language adventure part 1 to 9: Steve speaks about language learning and answers to the common problems the new learner is facing.

3. Free contents from easy starters and from other categories.

  • These contents contain the most common 2000 words (also called as High Frequency Words) used in English. These are the words that are frequently repeated in any conversations. These words account for 80% of any content.
  • When you choose any content you should complete following tasks with it. (Not necessary in the same order)

1. First listen to it over and over again. (I usually listen to 3 to 4 times)

2. Then read it and while reading, save the difficult words in your database.

3. Now again start to read it and try to find out and save various phrases from this content.

4. Now go to review section. First review ‘words I am learning’ and then ‘phrases I am learning’. Now test your words and phrases.

5. Try to use these words and phrases in your writings.

6. Work on your pronunciation at pronunciation section.

After finishing free trial:

  • When you become a paying member you will get access to linguist library, which has a huge number of contents that are recorded by native speakers. These contents are categorised as family, literature, culture and so on.
  • There are two types of contents available: conversational and non-conversational.

1. Conversational contents are conversation between two or more native speakers on the meaningful subject.

2. In non-conversational contents, native speaker reads out some interesting text.

  • I will suggest you to select conversational contents. These contents contain less academic words and more high frequency words. Also, this will helps you to review the words that you are learning. These contents are full of common phrases that are used by native speakers and it will help you to improve your speaking. Below is a list of some of the categories that contain conversational contents:

1. Easy Starter– “Asking for Things”

2. Language– “The Pronunciation Doctor”

3. Family– there are quite a few content items featuring Dr. Joy Brown and Dr. Laura. Both these ladies are radio show hosts in the U.S. and they speak to people who call in with their problems. These items are very popular, especially the Dr. Laura ones.

4. Entertainment– There are six items in this category.

5. Sport– There are 5 items in this category.

6. Culture– There are numerous items in this category.

  • If you want to improve your vocabulary then select contents from literature or other categories as these contents contain more new words and academic words. This will help you to build your vocabulary.
  • I will suggest choosing more and more conversational contents and if you get bored with this then choosing literature contents.
  • Initially try to choose content that contain few new words. Once you get familier with common words then try to select difficult contents.
  • Try to participate in beginner level discussions or join group of your level. Try to use words and phrases that you have learned in your discussion.

This is rough guideline and totally based on my personal experience but I am sure it will help the beginners to get the best out of the linguist. If you have any query, I will be happy to help you.

10 Responses to “How to start learning English with the linguist: Guidelines for the beginners”

  1. Yukiko said

    Hi Shashi!
    Wow, your blog is superb! I admire you being so enthusiastic and highly motivated towards learning at the Linguist and the other English studies. I should work much harder to catch up with you!
    So, do you enjoy your stay in England?
    Hope to talk to you sometime in the future open discussion or something.
    Take care.

  2. shashi said

    Thanks Yokiko!!
    The Linguist is the system that makes you motivated and enthusiastic towards English learning. I am really enjoying with it. Now linguist has become a part of my daily routine. I am enjoying my stay in the UK as well. It's nice to see here now as spring is approching and flowers are blooming. I love the UK.

  3. Tony said

    Hi Shashi

    you really did a good job!! What a nice and clear guide for beginner you did!!! 🙂

    It is pity that I am not a Linguist starter any more, otherwise I would absolutely follow your great instruction to enjoy a Linguist adventure!!! 🙂

  4. shashi said

    Thanks Tony!!
    I hope it will work for newcomer. Tony, now I've realised what makes you to stick with linguist. You know, as we spend more and more time with the linguist, it gets more and more closer to us.

    I would like to say one thing about the linguist that it has made our learning more interesting. I would really salute to Steve for his invention. Hope, we both will continue our adventure, in more interesting way.

  5. 4x made easy

    We are one of the best 4x made easy resource in our field.

  6. Raymond said

    Hi Shashi
    First of all,your blog is not only big and super,but also pretty,
    neat and really very GOOD!
    My English is so simple because I’m not Englishman.But I want inprove my English so I’m here and ask you a few quastions.How do you learn English so well?Please tell me your study way here clearly.Do you love English most?I can tell you although I’m not
    good at English,I like English very much absolutely.
    I’m waiting for your reply.See you.

  7. shashi said

    Hi Raymond,
    Thanks for your compliments…
    It’s hard to explain how I learned English in one comment. By and large I would say, I learned (and still learning) English with the Linguist site. It’s fantastic site and I have been with it almost for one year. Initially I was very nervous about my English but Linguist has given me self confidence.
    I spend atleast two hours studying English with the Linguist. Daily I read new contents from Linguist library and listen to lots of audio contents. I participate in group discussion weekly with other linguist students and tutor. It helps me build my vocabulary…
    Language learning is never ending journey and you have to keep going on…

  8. Automotive Schools

    We are one of the best Automotive Schools resource in our field.

  9. Raymond said

    Hi Shashi,
    Thanks for your comment of learning English and I’m sorry that I
    am so late to reply to you.I’ll keep learning English very hard.
    Let’s work hard together.Bye.

  10. Raymond said

    Hi anyone,
    I’m here again!I’m very deeply sorry that I have a long, long time to visit here because of my school life.Any other comments?
    Bye.

Leave a Reply

 
